top of page

Floating and Theta Waves – Here's What You Should Know

Electrical activity in the brain can be measured and divided into different frequency patterns using an electroencephalograph (EEG).

Brain waves are classified into five sections based on their frequency ranges.

The Five Sections

These five sections are:

  • Delta Waves (3 Hz)

  • Theta Waves (3 – 8 Hz)

  • Alpha Waves (8 – 12 Hz)

  • Beta Waves (12 – 27 Hz)

  • Gamma Waves (27 + Hz)

Delta Waves

Delta waves (3 Hz) are associated with deep sleep, unconsciousness and the regenerative processes of the body.

Theta Waves

Theta waves (3 – 8 Hz) are associated with a state between consciousness and sleep and are often observed during deep relaxation, meditation and creativity.

Alpha Waves

Alpha waves (8 – 12 Hz) are associated with a calm, relaxed and creative state of the brain, often observed during states of meditation or daydreaming.

Beta Waves

Beta waves (12 – 27 Hz) are associated with an active state of the brain, including concentration, alertness and problem-solving.

Gamma Waves

Gamma waves (27 + Hz) are associated with heightened perception, attention and cognitive processing and are often observed during intense focus and high-level information-processing tasks.

Floating & Theta Waves

Great news! Theta brainwave states can actually be induced during a floatation session – which may give individuals access to unconscious material and creative inspiration.

In fact, the state of deep relaxation in which theta waves are observed has been used as a source of creativity since ancient times.

Float to get into the theta state.

bottom of page